Steve’s thoughts on random band connections and “Gonna Get It Right”

Following the “Download of the Month” release, members of MBG will share their thoughts about that song in subsequent blog posts. We hope it’ll give you a greater appreciation for the tune and all that went into writing and recording it.  Enjoy!

*******************

If you haven’t checked out our latest single, Gonna Get It Right, please do.  Not just because it’s a nifty little tune, but because it’s proof positive of an iron-clad truth: Doug Davis can write some awesome songs.

In one of life’s wonderful twists and turns, Doug and I knew each other long before we shared the stage as Mediocre Bad Guys.  Way back in the 80’s, we were classmates at Wake Forest University.  Fraternity brothers, even. Yep, Doug was a frat boy.  I guess that’s no less surprising than me being one.

Doug was in a nifty little band called Easily Suede that was 3/4 Chi Psi, our fraternity; which meant whenever we had a Chi Psi party we had a 3/4 chance of booking them to play.  They were solid.  And yes, I managed to find my way onto their stage a grand total of two times: once to sing U2’s “I Will Follow” at some outdoor gig; and second to (no snickering) play bass for our Greek Week song.  It was Georgia Satellite’s “Battleship Chains,” except we changed the lyrics: You got me tied down in plastic wrist bands / Seven different colors and it’s getting out of hand.  True poetry.

After graduation I lost touch with Doug, until some fifteen years later when I moved to Mount Airy and met Jerry, who had long run in Winston-Salem music circles with Doug.  It was a very cool sense of deja vu when Doug agreed to join MBG as our guitarist and fourth vocalist and we got to share the stage again.  And I’ll give him credit for pushing the band to start working on originals, tapping into a mess of talent we didn’t fully knew we had.  I still recall one of his emails to Les and Jerry and myself, talking about this song he’d written specifically for Les’ voice, and how it was going to bring tears to his eyes hearing him sing it.

That song, if you hadn’t already guessed, was Gonna Get It RightIt may even bring tears to your eyes, too.  Let me tell you, it’s a whole lot of fun making music with crazy-talented people.

**************

TO DOWNLOAD OCTOBER’S SONG “GONNA GET IT RIGHT,” CLICK HERE

TO SIGN UP FOR MBG’S EMAIL LIST: www.mediocrebadguys.com

MBG on FACEBOOK                          MBG on TWITTER

Comments are closed.